Site hosted by Build your free website today!



Astrology is divination by planets and stars. The Chaldea’s and the Assyrians were the first to discard their sky gods in favor of a non-deistic system of divination founded upon astronomy and numerology. It is evident that the Egyptians knew and used astrology many thousands of years before the time of Christ, and the earliest Egyptian astrologer mentioned is Petosiris, a priest who lived during the reign of Nicepsos about 800 BC. In Medieval and Renaissance Europe both medical and judicial Astrology enjoyed great popularity and legal support. The principle behind Astrology is that by studying the position of the planets, their relationships to each other one can interpret the inner nature of people and situations, and predict the future course of events. Modern astrology also makes use of the three outer planets visible only by telescope as well as a number of asteroids.


There are twelve signs of the zodiac, namely, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces—also known as sun signs.

These twelve zodiac signs represent conditions or fields of operation, and have no power in themselves. The signs are thought of as areas of action, and the planets are the action. Also, no one sign is better or worse, nor more or less evolved than another. They are all different and unique.

The individual signs achieve their prominence in an individual astrology chart because of the planets and the lights (the sun and moon) which lie within them. The attributes held by each sign are due to its rulership. Each sign is ruled by a planet , and some signs have a second or co-ruler. The co-ruler has a definite influence on the particular sign, but not as strong as that of the ruler. Each sign additionally has characteristics derived from its element, its quality and its polarity.


Fire, earth, water and air are the four astrological elements, and three signs are associated with each element giving rise to the term triplicities.

The three fire signs are: Aries, Leo and Sagittarius.

The three earth signs are: Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.

The three water signs are: Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces.

The three air signs are Gemini, Libra and Aquarius.


The three qualities in astrology are cardinal, fixed and mutable. Four signs share a quality:

Cardinal signs are Aries, Libra, Cancer and Capricorn.

Fixed signs are Taurus, Scorpio, Leo and Aquarius.

Mutable signs are Gemini, Sagittarius, Virgo and Pisces.

Qualities of the cardinal modality are:

skillful - beginning, initiating, originating, enterprising, direct and active;

unskillful – impatient, dissatisfied, does not finish what it starts, forceful.

Qualities of the fixed modality include:

skillful - stabilizing, focused, resolving, constant, determined;

unskillful - stubborn, rigid, obsessed, stuck.

Qualities of the mutable modality include:

skillful - adaptable, flexible, adjustable, changing, versatile;

unskillful - scattered, unfocused, inconsistent, indecisive and unfinishing.


The Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto are the astrological planets.

The planets provide the power, the energy and the principles while the signs are the areas, circumstances and conditions through which they operate.

Planets are colored by the signs they are in, as well as by that sign's ruler and co-ruler. When a planet is in the sign that it rules, it is said to be in dignity, and when it is in the opposite sign, it is in its detriment.


The horoscope's division into twelve segments - the twelve houses - represents the twelve departments of life:

The First House

The First House takes its meaning for the ascendant and represents the self, the people and their behavior. It is linked to Aries.

The Second House

The Second House represents all financial affairs, desires for stability, constructive talents, financial independence and values. It is linked to Taurus.

The Third House

The Third House represents travel, communications, trade, the media, the mind, writing, intellectuals, education, ideas, relatives and speech. It is linked to Gemini.

The Fourth House

The Fourth House represents home, family, ethnic pride, the land, wealth, the personal and national soul. It is linked to cancer.

The Fifth House

The Fifth House represents self-expression, youth, romance, pleasures, financial speculation, sports, games, children, royalty and nobility. It is linked to Leo.

The Sixth House

The Sixth House represents public health, work, service industries, civil and military service, labor unions, employees, charities and welfare. It is linked to Virgo.

The Seventh House

The Seventh House rules international relations, politics, war, disputes, legal affairs, marriage, divorce, contracts and public scandal. It is linked to Libra.

The Eighth House

The Eighth House rules financial dealings, corporations, taxes, insurance, mortgages, communes, stock markets and debts. It stands for death, rebirth, renewal and the occult. It is linked to Scorpio.

The Ninth House

The Ninth House rules foreign affairs, trade, distant travels, higher education, philosophy, the law, the courts, the church and prophecy. It is linked to Sagittarius.

The Tenth House

The Tenth House stands for the government, the executive and public life. It is linked to Capricorn.

The Eleventh House

The Eleventh House represents group cooperation, idealistic associations, government finance, social programs, theater, friends, profitable inventions and hopes for the future. It is linked to Aquarius.

The Twelfth House

The Twelfth House rules karma, secret enemies, prisons, monasteries, hospitals, spirituality, exile, and the search for self-renewal. It is linked to Pisces.